

Legislation Text

File #: 17-933, Version: 2

A Resolution Appointing Ronald Sanchez to the Homestake Steering Committee and the Board of Directors of the Aurora-Colorado Springs Joint Water Authority

Presenter:

Daniel Higgins, Chief Water Services Officer Jerry A. Forte, P.E., CEO, Colorado Springs Utilities

Summary:

It is necessary for City Council to appoint a Board Member to the remainder of the existing three-year terms ending on December 31, 2017 and January 14, 2018 due to the retirement of Wayne Vanderschuere on March 31, 2017. The attached resolution would appoint Ronald Sanchez, Managing Engineer, Water Planning and Design, as a Director of the Homestake Steering Committee and the Aurora-Colorado Springs Joint Water Authority effective April 1, 2017.

Previous Council Action:

By resolution number 109-14, dated November 10, 2014, City Council appointed Wayne Vanderschuere as a current Board Member of the Homestake Steering Committee effective January 1, 2015, and as a member of the Board of Directors of the Aurora-Colorado Springs Joint Water Authority for a three-year term effective January 15, 2015.

Background:

The City of Colorado Springs and the City of Aurora ("Cities") as partners operate the Homestake Water Project. The Homestake Water Project is governed by the Homestake Steering Committee which is made up of three representatives of each City who are appointed by their respective City Councils. The Cities formed the Aurora-Colorado Springs Joint Water Authority as a financing vehicle for the extension of the Homestake pipeline from Twin Lakes to the Otero Pump Station. The Board of Directors of the Aurora-Colorado Springs Joint Water Authority is made of three representatives of each City who are also appointed by their respective City Councils and two non-voting members.

Financial Implications:

N/A

Board/Commission Recommendation:

N/A

Stakeholder Process: N/A

Alternatives: N/A

Proposed Motion:

Approve a Resolution Appointing Ronald Sanchez to the Homestake Steering Committee and the Board of Directors of the Aurora-Colorado Springs Joint Water Authority

N/A