# City of Colorado Springs



City Hall 107 N. Nevada Avenue Colorado Springs, CO 80903

# Legislation Text

File #: 17-932, Version: 1

## A Resolution Appointing Abigail Ortega as a Board Member of the Fountain Valley Authority

#### Presenter:

Daniel Higgins, Chief Water Services Officer Jerry A. Forte, P.E., CEO Colorado Springs Utilities

## **Summary:**

Wayne Vanderschuere has retired as of March 31, 2017. Mr. Vanderschuere's term expires on December 31, 2017. It is necessary for City Council to appoint a Board Member to fill the remainder of the three-year term effective April 1, 2017 and ending December 31, 2017. The attached resolution would appoint Abigail Ortega, Planning Supervisor, Water Conveyance, as a Director of the Fountain Valley Authority to fill the term.

#### **Previous Council Action:**

By resolution number 108-14, dated November 10, 2014, City Council appointed Wayne Vanderschuere as a current Board Member.

#### **Background:**

The Fountain Valley Authority is a water authority established as a separate legal and governmental entity, and a political subdivision under the laws of Colorado, and consists of the following entities: The City of Colorado Springs, The City of Fountain, Widefield Water and Sanitation District, Security Water District, and Stratmoor Hills Water District. The articles of incorporation of the Fountain Valley Authority provide that the City of Colorado Springs shall appoint four members of the Board of Directors to the Authority for a term of three years.

# Financial Implications:

N/A

## **Board/Commission Recommendation:**

N/A

#### **Stakeholder Process:**

N/A

#### **Alternatives:**

N/A

File #: 17-932, Version: 1

# **Proposed Motion:**

Approve a Resolution Appointing Abigail Ortega as a Board Member of the Fountain Valley Authority N/A