

City of Colorado Springs

City Hall 107 N. Nevada Avenue Colorado Springs, CO 80903

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 17-1314 Version: 1 Name:

Type:Informational ReportStatus:Mayor's OfficeFile created:10/25/2017In control:City Council

On agenda: 11/28/2017 Final action: 11/28/2017

Title: A Resolution re-appointing members of the Board of Directors of the Fountain Valley Authority to fill a

three-year term effective January 1, 2018 and ending December 31, 2020

Presenter:

Daniel Higgins, Chief Water Services Officer Jerry Forte, P.E., CEO, Colorado Springs Utilities

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. FVA Resolution Board Re-Appointments 11-28-17.pdf, 2. Signed Resolution 129-17

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
11/28/2017	1	City Council	adopted	Pass

A Resolution re-appointing members of the Board of Directors of the Fountain Valley Authority to fill a three-year term effective January 1, 2018 and ending December 31, 2020

Presenter:

Daniel Higgins, Chief Water Services Officer Jerry Forte, P.E., CEO, Colorado Springs Utilities

Summary:

The Articles of Incorporation of the Fountain Valley Authority provide that the City of Colorado Springs shall appoint four members of the Board of Directors of the Fountain Valley Authority for a term of three-years. The current term of two of Colorado Springs' members will expire on December 31, 2017, and one term will be vacated. It is necessary for City Council to appoint individuals to fill the three-year terms which will begin on January 1, 2018 and end on December 31, 2020. The attached resolution would re-appoint Abigail Ortega and Kirk Olds, and appoint Scott Shewey to the Board of Directors of the Fountain Valley Authority.

Previous Council Action:

By Resolution No. 108-14, dated November 10, 2014, City Council appointed Sonya Thieme to the Board of Directors of the Fountain Valley Authority for a three-year term; and by Resolution No. 40-16 dated April 26, 2016, City Council appointed Kirk Olds; and by Resolution No. 48-17, dated April 25, 2017, City Council appointed Abigail Ortega, to the Board of Directors of the Fountain Valley Authority to fill vacated three-year terms expiring on December 31, 2017.

Background:

File #: 17-1314, Version: 1

The Fountain Valley Authority is a water authority established as a separate legal and governmental entity, and a political subdivision under the laws of Colorado, and consists of the following entities: The City of Colorado Springs, The City of Fountain, Widefield Water and Sanitation District, Security Water District, and Stratmoor Hills Water District.

Financial Implications:

N/a

Board/Commission Recommendation:

Colorado Springs Utilities recommends approval of the proposed resolution.

Stakeholder Process:

N/A

Alternatives:

N/A

Proposed Motion:

Move approval of Resolution.

N/A