

City of Colorado Springs

City Hall 107 N. Nevada Avenue Colorado Springs, CO 80903

Meeting Minutes

City Council

	City Council meetings are broadcast live on Channel 18. In accordance with the ADA, anyone requiring an auxiliary aid to participate in this meeting should make the request as soon as possible but no later than 48 hours before the scheduled	
	event.	
Tuesday, April 18, 2017	2:00 PM	Council Chambers

Special Called meeting of City Council to elect President and President Pro Tem

1. Call to Order

Present: 9 - Councilmember Yolanda Avila, Councilmember Merv Bennett, President Pro Tem Jill Gaebler, Councilmember David Geislinger, Councilmember Don Knight, Councilmember Bill Murray, Councilmember Andy Pico, President Richard Skorman, and Councilmember Tom Strand

2. New Business

2.A. <u>16-720</u> Election of Council President and President Pro Tem

Presenter: Council President Merv Bennett

Council President Merv Bennett asked for nominations from Council for Council President. Councilmember Murray nominated Richard Skorman. Councilmember Knight nominated Merv Bennett.

Councilmember Skorman and President Bennett each spoke briefly about what they hope to accomplish in the role:

Councilmember Skorman said he plans to work well with Council to ensure they have the support they need to be effective, and work well with the Mayor. He has no divisive energy or agendas, and is honored to be involved in the City and work with the great staff.

President Bennett said that if re-elected he would continue the work he's been doing over the last term in partnership with the Mayor, working as a team to find viable and sustainable solutions for the City.

Councilmember Murray nominated Richard Skorman. Councilmember Knight nominated Merv Bennett.

The result of the roll call vote was: Richard Skorman was elected President by a vote of 5-4-0

Avila - Skorman Bennett - Bennett Gaebler - Skorman Geislinger - Skorman Knight - Bennett Murray - Skorman Pico - Bennett Skorman - Skorman Strand - Bennett

Councilmember Merv Bennett asked for nominations from Council for President Pro Tem. Councilmember Murray nominated Jill Gaebler. Councilmember Pico nominated Don Knight.

President Pro Tem Gaebler and Councilmember Knight each spoke briefly about what they hope to accomplish in the role:

President Pro Tem Gaebler said that she has been a strong partner with this President and will work very well with the new President toward making Council a stronger, more proactive legislative body working with the Mayor; but also having its own priorities and strategic vision, working to make our City an even better place to live.

Councilmember Knight said that if elected President Pro Tem he will be able to provide balance, as he and President Skorman are on different sides of the political spectrum, and that balanced leadership will show the community we are open to both sides. As a Council we haven't operated very efficiently, lacking internal policies and procedures; he would concentrate on helping Council to operate more efficiently than we have in the past.

Councilmember Murray nominated Jill Gaebler. Councilmember Pico nominated Don Knight. The result of the roll call vote was: Jill Gaebler was elected President Pro Tem by a vote of 5-4-0

Avila - Gaebler Bennett - Knight Gaebler - Gaebler Geislinger - Gaebler Knight - Knight Murray - Gaebler Pico - Knight Skorman - Gaebler Strand - Knight

3. Adjourn

Chief of Staff Jeffrey Greene thanked President Bennett for his service over the past term.

There being no futher business before Council, Council was adjourned.

Sarah B. Johnson