## RESOLUTION NO. \_\_\_\_ - 23

## A RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING MARCH 2023 AS WOMEN'S HISTORY MONTH

WHEREAS, Women's History Month was first recognized in 1987 by Congress and enacted by the President Ronald Reagan; and

WHEREAS, Women have been leaders, not only in securing their own rights of suffrage and equal opportunity, but also in the abolitionist movement, the emancipation movement, the industrial labor movement, and the civil rights movement; and

WHEREAS, many local Women have contributed greatly to the success of Colorado Springs and we wish to recognize a few of these visionary leaders who are great examples of kindness, leadership, resilience, and courage:

Doctors Emma Woorow and Mary Riggs Noble and Registered Nurse, Florence Standish, all contributed greatly to public health of Colorado Springs.

Ms. Gretchen McRae was a civil rights activist and the first African American woman to run for City Council in Colorado Springs.

Vera Gang Scott was the second African American school teacher hired in Colorado Springs, the frist African American social worker in the city, and the first African American school Principal to the city, serving School District 11.

Nancy Lewis served Colorado Springs for 27 years, was the City's first female Director of Parks and Recreation and was instrumental in the revitalization of Garden of the Gods Park including a new Master Plan and Visitor Center. The park now attracts millions of visitors annually.

Margaret "Marge" Manuelito Manzanares Vasquez was an entrepreneur and community advocate and Colorado Springs' first Latina Councilmember.

Ms. Helen Hunt-Jackson was an accomplished author and civil rights activist who wrote and worked feverishly for American Indian rights.

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF COLORADO SPRINGS:

Section 1. The City Council recognizes March 2023 as Women's History Month and urges all citizens to reflect on their accomplishments.

Dated at Colorado Springs, Colorado this 28th day of February, 2022.

ATTEST:	Council President	
Sarah B. Johnson, City Clerk		