

# Overview of Proposed Bylaws Changes

City Council Work Session

Monday, Oct. 24, 2022

Jim Johnson, Board Chair



# Summary of Changes

- Adjust the bylaws to reflect City Council's March 22, 2022 decision to add UCHealth-Memorial and Penrose-St. Francis CEOs (or designees) to board
- Language clean up (changing "directors" to "Trustees")



# New Hospital Executive Trustees

- Adjust the bylaws to reflect City Council's March 22, 2022 decision to add UCHealth-Memorial and Penrose-St. Francis CEOs (or designees) to board. Key changes:
  - Board size increases from nine to 11 trustees.
  - If the CEO of UCH-MH and PSF are serving, no Mayoral nomination or City Council approval is required.
  - If the CEO wishes to designate a colleague to serve, the proposed designee must go through the same nomination and approval process as other members of the board.
  - These are permanent appointments...not subject to term limits.
  - The residency requirement has been changed from 100% COS residents to at least 67%. Up to 33% could reside in Teller County or El Paso County outside COS limits.



# Questions? Discussion?

# ADDITIONAL BACKGROUND INFORMATION



## MISSION

To target immediate healthcare needs and encourage healthy living

## **VISION**

El Paso & Teller Counties are the healthiest in Colorado

## **VALUES**

Integrity:: Stewardship:: Collaboration:: Innovation:: Leadership

#### **FUNDING FOCUS AREAS**

- Expand access to healthcare for those in greatest need
- Prevent suicide
- Cultivate healthy environments in high-need, underserved communities
  - Environments that increase physical activity
  - Environments that increase access to healthy, affordable food
  - Transitional and permanent affordable housing (new)
- Prevent or heal trauma

# **GEOGRAPHIC SCOPE**

El Paso & Teller Counties

## **GRANT TYPE**

- General Operating
- Program
- Capital
- Capacity-Building

# TOTAL ASSETS

\$158.5M as of 08/31/22

PAYOUT (may not exceed 5% of 12Q avg. TAV) >\$30M paid out, inception through 6/30/22



# **Board of Trustees & Staff**

## **Trustees:**

- Jim Johnson, Chair
- Mary Coleman, Secretary
- Jacob Pruitt, Treasurer
- Martha Barton
- Curtis Brown
- Kent Fortune
- Annette Fryman
- Mia Ramirez
- Erik Wallace, MD

## Staff:

- Cari Davis, Executive Director
- Jamie Brown, Program Officer