RESOLUTION ____-22

A RESOLUTION APPROVING AN INTERGOVERNMENTAL AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE CITY OF COLORADO SPRINGS AND THE PIKES PEAK AREA COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS (PPACG) IN SUPPORT OF THE SPECIALIZED TRANSPORTATION PROGRAM

WHEREAS, the City of Colorado Springs is the primary source of public transportation in the Pikes Peak region, providing fixed-route, complementary Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) paratransit, and alternative commuting services; and

WHEREAS, the Pikes Peak Area Council of Governments (PPACG) currently receives and administers Area Agency on Aging (AAA) funds for seniors and has been designated by the Governor of Colorado as the regional recipient of 5310 funds for the Colorado Springs Urbanized Area; and

WHEREAS, the City administered the Specialized Transportation Program for the region until administration of the program was transferred to PPACG in January 2021; and

WHEREAS, the City and PPACG entered into an Intergovernmental Agreement on December 31, 2020 to ensure a smooth transition of specialized transportation services to sustain the needs of seniors and people with disabilities in the region. That original intergovernmental agreement will terminate at the conclusion of 2022; and

WHEREAS, the City and PPACG desire to extend the arrangement for the transfer of Pikes Peak Rural Transportation Authority (PPRTA) Transit funds for the Specialized Transportation Program through a new intergovernmental agreement.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF COLORADO SPRINGS:

Section 1. The City Council approves the Intergovernmental Agreement between the City of Colorado Springs, Colorado, and Pikes Peak Area Council of Governments regarding the transfer of Pikes Peak Rural Transportation Authority Transit funds for the Specialized Transportation Program.

Section 2. The mayor is authorized the execute, administer, amend and extend the intergovernmental agreement.

Datad at Cal	arada Carinas	Calarada thia	dov. of	2022
Dated at Cor	orado Sprinds	. Colorado this	dav of	. 2022.

Council President	

ATTEST:

Sarah B. Johnson, City Clerk